Clemens And Bonds Put On Baseball Hall Of Fame Ballot

NPR | Nov. 28, 2012 11:38 a.m.

Contributed By:

Mark Memmott

Baseball’s steroids era will be on many minds at noon ET when the names on the Baseball Hall of Fame‘s 2013 ballot are to be announced.

Among those eligible to be included for the first time: Sluggers Barry Bonds and Sammy Sosa, and pitcher Roger Clemens. As The Associated Press says, “all were tainted by accusations that they used performance-enhancing drugs” during their careers.

Last year, slugger Mark McGwire — who has admitted he used steroids during his career — fell far short of getting enough votes to be elected to the Hall. Though Bonds, Sosa and Clemens have fought allegations that they too used performance-enhancing drugs, the conventional wisdom is that they won’t get into the Hall either anytime soon.

We’ll post on the news when it’s announced. In advance, the Hall posted this information about who might be on the 2013 ballot that will go to members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America:

“Provided that they remain retired, the following is a partial list of former Major League ballplayers who will become eligible for consideration by the BBWAA for election into the Hall of Fame in upcoming years. Players who are eligible have played 10 seasons of Major League Baseball and have been retired from for five full seasons. For example, those players eligible for consideration in 2013 will have played their final game in 2007. Those players eligible for consideration in 2014 will have last played in 2008, etc.

“2013: Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Craig Biggio, Curt Schilling, Sammy Sosa, Mike Piazza, Kenny Lofton, David Wells, Julio Franco, Shawn Green, Steve Finley, Roberto Hernandez, Jeff Cirillo, Jose Valentin, Reggie Sanders, Jeff Conine, Jose Mesa, Royce Clayton, Bob Wickman, Ryan Klesko, Aaron Sele, Woody Williams, Rondell White, Mike Lieberthal, Tony Batista, Mike Stanton, Sandy Alomar Jr., Damian Miller, Todd Walker

“**The following players received between 5 and 74 percent of the BBWAA vote in 2012 and have appeared on no more than 14 previous BBWAA ballots, making them eligible to return to the 2013 ballot: Jeff Bagwell, Edgar Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Rafael Palmeiro, Tim Raines, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Larry Walker and Bernie Williams.”

Copyright 2012 National Public Radio. To see more, visit


blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow us
Thanks to our Sponsors:
become a sponsor
Thanks to our Sponsors
become a sponsor