Follow us

Contributed By:

Analyzing Election Results

OPB | May 21, 2014 12:06 p.m. | Updated: May 22, 2014 1:47 p.m.

The results of Oregon’s 2014 primary election are in, with some landslide victories, like Republican Senate primary candidate Monica Wehby and Multnomah County Chair Deborah Kafoury. Portland voters roundly rejected the measure that would have created an independent water and sewer district not subject to city control. Other measures passed handily, like the bans on GMO crops in Jackson and Josephine counties.

The results of other primary races were widely anticipated and now confirmed — like the Oregon gubernatorial race which pits Republican Dennis Richardson against incumbent Democrat John Kitzhaber. As expected, Democratic incumbents in a variety of local offices prevailed. And some Republican upsets have the potential to shake up the balance of power in Salem.

We’ll sort through these and other election results and look ahead to the general election in November.

What races were you following most closely?



blog comments powered by Disqus
Thanks to our Sponsors:
become a sponsor


Thanks to our Sponsors
become a sponsor

Funding Provided By

Rose E. Tucker Charitable Trust

James F. and Marion L. Miller Foundation

Dawn and Al Vermeulen

Ray and Marilyn Johnson