Art Beat Presents: Art Across America

Category

Documentary

Art Beat presents a new summer series, ‘Art Across America,’  showcasing artists from coast to coast. Go behind the scenes to witness the creation of everything from subway art in Manhattan, to found object assemblage in Houston, to portraits of modern day ranching in Phoenix.  Expand your horizons with ‘Art Across America,’ an Art Beat presentation.

Episodes

Tom Otterness; Alexander Heilner; Jeremy Denk; Karen Gustafson
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, June 20 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, June 23 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, June 23 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Dancer Amy Sackett; Sculptor David Knopp; Artist Gregory Euclide; Photographer Abrahan Garza
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, June 27 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, June 30 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, June 30 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Gary Kachadourian; Christopher Poor; El Anatsui; Jaydan Moore
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, July 11 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, July 14 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, July 14 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Artist Michael Bise, Photographer Terry Gydesen, Poet Dunya Mikhail, Ukrainian Kilims
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, July 18 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, July 21 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, July 21 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Clarinetist David Krakauer; Painter Michael Birawer; War Photography; Swedish artist Gunilla Klingberg
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, July 25 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, July 28 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, July 28 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Guitar Maker Charlie Hoffman; Islamic Calligrapher Usma Mirza; Photographer Rhea Pappas; Musician Shodekah; Faith Ringgold
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, August 1 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 4 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 4 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Opera Tenor Aaron Casey; Author Kao Kalia Yang; Cirque de Soleil Jump Roper; Visual Artist Oleg Vassiliev
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, August 8 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 11 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 11 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
The Quay Brothers; painter Ning Hou; printmaker Emily Gray Koehler; photographer Scott Baxter
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, August 15 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 18 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 18 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Artist Eric Meek; photographer Michael Eastman; artist Allen Christian; and Jol Dantzig
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, August 22 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 25 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, August 25 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Dancer & choreographer Jennifer Nugent; animator Tom Schroeder; Intimate Opera; and musician Michael Spiro
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, August 29 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, September 1 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, September 1 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Animator Sanjay Patel; Photographer JoAnn Verburg; Painter Allen Denny Smith; Rodeo Art.
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, December 19 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, December 22 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, December 22 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Jake Shimabukuro; Petronella Ytsma; Arnold Alaniz; John Wilson
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Thursday, December 26 from 8:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, December 29 from 1:00 a.m. - 1:30 a.m. on OPB TV
  • Sunday, December 29 from 6:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. on OPB TV
Thanks to our Sponsors:
become a sponsor

Contact Us

Let us know if you have questions or comments about OPB television, radio, online services or membership.

Frequently Asked Questions
Answers to many common questions are available here.

By Phone
1.800.241.8123
9am – 5pm weekdays

By Email
opb.org/contactus

By Mail
OPB
7140 SW Macadam Avenue
Portland, OR 97219

Thanks to our Sponsors
become a sponsor