Well Read

Edward Curtis's Native American photographs earned him scorn and poverty during his own lifetime.

Episodes

Tim Egan, Short Nights Of The Shadow Catcher
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 12 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Blaine Harden, Escape From Camp 14
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 19 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Louise Erdrich, The Round House
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 26 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Paul De Barros, Shall We Play That One Together?
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 2 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Mark Bowden, The Finish: The Killing Of Osama Bin
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 9 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jasper Fforde, The Woman Who Died A Lot
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 16 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
David Blatner, Spectrums
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 23 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
G. Willow Wilson, Alif The Unseen
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 30 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Domingo Martinez, The Boy Kings Of Texas: A Memoir
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, September 20 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Karl Marlantes, What It Is Like To Go To War
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, September 27 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Chris Cleave, Gold
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, October 4 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Lesley Hazleton, The First Muslim: The Story Of Mu
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, October 11 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jared Diamond, The World Until Yesterday
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, October 18 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Ian Rankin, Standing In Another Man's Grave
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, October 25 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Sam Kean, The Violinist's Thumb
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, November 1 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Richelle Mead, The Indigo Spell
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, November 8 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Frederick Hoxie, This Indian Country
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, November 15 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Ayana Mathis, The Twelve Tribes Of Hattie
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, November 22 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Michael Moss, Salt Sugar Fat
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, November 29 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jess Walter, Beautiful Ruin
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, December 20 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jayne Ann Krentz, Amanda Quick: The Mystery Woman
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, December 27 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Gretel Ghrlich, Facing The Wave: A Journey In The
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, January 3 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Ivan Doig, The Bartender's Tale
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, January 10 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Julie Otsuka, The Buddha In The Attic
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, January 17 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jonathan Evison, The Revised Fundamentals Of Careg
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, January 24 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Manil Suri, The City Of Devil
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, January 31 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Khaled Hosseini, And The Mountains Echoed
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, February 7 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Nathaniel Philbrick, Bunker Hill
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, February 28 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Elizabeth Strout, The Burgess Boys
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, March 21 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Greg Bear, Hull Zero Three
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, March 28 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Greg Martin, Stories For Boys
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, April 4 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Guy Gavriel Kay, River Of Stars
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, April 11 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Christa Parravani, Her
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, April 18 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Niel James Brown, The Boys In The Boat
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, April 25 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Lee Child, Never Go Back
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, May 2 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jeff Guinn, Manson
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, May 9 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Ivan Doig, Sweet Thunder
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, May 16 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
David Laskin, The Family
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, May 23 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Laurie King, The Bones Of Paris
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, May 30 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Bob Shacochis, The Woman Who Lost Her Soul
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, June 20 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Paul Harding, Enon
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, June 27 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Elizabeth George, Just One Evil Act
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 4 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Langdon Cook, The Mushroom Hunters
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 11 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Mark Helprin, In Sunlight And In Shadow
    Past Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 18 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Debbie Macomber, Starry Night
    Today's and Upcoming Broadcasts:
  • Friday, July 25 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Jonathan Lethem, Dissident Gardens
    Today's and Upcoming Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 1 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Elizabeth Gilbert, The Sig. Of All Things
    Today's and Upcoming Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 8 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Garrison Keillor, O What A Luxury: Verses Lyrica
    Today's and Upcoming Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 15 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Amy Tan, The Valley Of Amazemen
    Today's and Upcoming Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 22 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Ruth Ozeki, A Tale For The Time Being
    Today's and Upcoming Broadcasts:
  • Friday, August 29 from 10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. on OPB PLUS
Thanks to our Sponsors:
become a sponsor

Contact Us

Let us know if you have questions or comments about OPB television, radio, online services or membership.

Frequently Asked Questions
Answers to many common questions are available here.

By Phone
1.800.241.8123
9am – 5pm weekdays

By Email
opb.org/contactus

By Mail
OPB
7140 SW Macadam Avenue
Portland, OR 97219

Thanks to our Sponsors
become a sponsor