On May 14th, 2013 the National Transportation and Safety Board made a recommendation for states to lower their drunk driving limits to 0.05 percent. Though the NTSB doesn’t have the ability to change the law, federal funding states receive can be affected by how states handle drunk drivers.
Currently, Oregon’s acceptable blood alcohol content (BAC) for people operating a motor vehicle is 0.08 percent. In Victoria, BC, they have implemented an impaired driving prevention program that allows officers to prevent questionable drivers from remaining on the road without making arrests. Officers may impound intoxicated drivers’ cars and temporarily revoke licenses if they are between 0.05 and 0.08 percent.
Oregon does not use sobriety checkpoints on roads or use intoxilyzers in the field. Instead, the officers use their observations and field sobriety tests when determining if they should make an arrest. The suspect’s BAC is not tested until they are back at the police station.
What do you think? Should Oregon make tougher DUI laws?
- Sgt. Graeme LeBlanc: Officer with the Integrated Road Safety Unit at the Victoria Police Department
- Sgt. Greg Plummer: DUII program manager with the Oregon State Police
More Think Out Loud
OPB | Feb. 22, 2017