Now Playing:

Arts & Life

Books | local

2013 Oregon Book Awards Winners Announced

The crowd gathers for the 2013 Oregon Book Awards ceremony at the Gerding Theater.

The crowd gathers for the 2013 Oregon Book Awards ceremony at the Gerding Theater.

Win Goodbody/

Cheryl Strayed, Storm Large and children’s book author Allen Say were among the winners of this year’s Oregon Book Awards, announced in a ceremony held this week at the Gerding Theater in Portland.

Portland singer and performer Storm Large received the Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction for Crazy Enough, a memoir about her lifelong struggles to deal with her mother’s mental illness.

Allen Say’s picture book Drawing from Memory, winner of the Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award for Children’s Literature, is also autobiographical. It tells the story of his own journey as an artist growing up in Japan and the powerful influence of his mentor, Japanese cartoonist Noro Shinpei.

Author Cheryl Strayed won the Reader’s Choice Award for her popular memoir, Wild, about her adventures hiking the Pacific Crest Trail.

Other winners included Ismet Prcic, who won the Ken Kesey Award for Fiction for his novel Shards, and Kent Hartman, who picked up the Frances Fuller Award for General Nonfiction for his portrait of The Wrecking Crew, a group of musicians who helped shape the sound of pop music in the ‘60s and ‘70s. The Angus L Bowmer Award for Drama went to Andrea Stolowitz for her play Antarktikos.

Author Larry Colton accepts his Literacy Legacy award at the 2013 Oregon Book Awards.

Author Larry Colton accepts his Literacy Legacy award at the 2013 Oregon Book Awards.

Win Goodbody/

Wordstock founder Larry Colton was honored with the Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award for his contributions to Oregon’s writing community.

Now that this year’s awards have been handed out, both finalists and winners will hit the road for a series of author tours throughout the state.

Susan Denning, Literary Arts‘ director of programs and events, says the 10-year-old program is an opportunity for writers to interact with readers in communities that are not on the regular book-tour circuit. “Some of the towns we visit only have a couple of literary events a year and we’re one of them,” says Denning.

“The writers enjoy traveling to places they’ve never been to before, meeting readers and getting to know other finalists,” she adds.

The next stop for the tour is in Klamath Falls in May. Creative nonfiction writer Aria Minu-Sepehr, poet Allan Peterson and novelist Alexis Smith will host free readings and writing workshops at the Klamath County Library.

See the full list of 2013 Oregon Book Awards winners.

Meet the Winners

A number of the 2013 Oregon Book Awards winners have appeared on OPB. Learn more about their work in these interviews and profiles.

Oregon Book Awards Winners author tour

More Arts & Life

More OPB