Now Playing:


Politics | Election | local

Kafoury Wins Race For Multnomah County Chair

In the race for county chair, current Multnomah County Commissioner Deborah Kafoury led former commissioner Jim Francesconi by a greater than 3-to-1 margin as of 11 p.m. Tuesday.

The candidates are both running in two races: One to finish out the vacated term of former Multnomah County Chair Jeff Cogen, the other to serve a new four-year term.

Multnomah County Unofficial Results

In late Tuesday’s vote count, Kafoury received more than 49,000 votes in both races, to more than 13,000 votes for Francesconi. No other candidate received more than 6,400 votes.

Multnomah County was still counting late-arriving ballots late Tuesday. In results Wednesday morning, Kafoury had more than 53,000 “yes” votes or 65.10 percent to Jim Francesconi’s 18.06 percent for the four-year term.

More News

More OPB

OPB has updated its privacy policy. You can find details here.

Related Content

Deborah Kafoury Wins Multnomah County Chair