Oregon Gov. Kate Brown declared a state of emergency for 13 counties Thursday night.

Her declaration follows days of heavy rains and wind that have left two people dead. The storms also led to extensive flooding and landslides.

The state of emergency covers Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill counties.

“Heavy rains and wind have required the evacuation of residences, and mudslides and high water have severely damaged or blocked major roadways in these areas of the state,” Brown said in a release Thursday. “The emergency declaration ensures state resources, emergency response personnel, and equipment can be activated to respond to communities in need if their local resources are exhausted.” 

The declaration authorizes the Office of Emergency Management to activate the state’s emergency operations plan and assist affected counties in recovery efforts. The state of emergency will remain in effect until further notice, according to the governor’s office.

It also gives state transportation leaders the authority to seek federal assistance for road repairs.

Washington state Gov. Jay Inslee declared a state of emergency for the entire state Wednesday.