Now Playing:



Kitzhaber Issues Drought Declaration For Three Oregon Counties

Gov. John Kitzhaber issued a drought declaration for Baker, Gilliam and Malheur counties Tuesday.  

The governor says there are serious challenges with water availability and the state needs to act swiftly.

He has directed state agencies to coordinate assistance to those areas, and help limit the economic effects on farmers and ranchers. 

The declaration should provide the state with additional water management tools to assist irrigators, municipalities, and other water users.

More News

More OPB

OPB has updated its privacy policy. You can find details here.