Now Playing:



3 Scientists Win Nobel Prize In Physics For Work On Earth's Place In The Universe

A Canadian and two Swiss scientists have won the Nobel Prize in Physics for for contributions for our understanding of the evolution of the universe and earth’s position in the cosmos.

James Peebles of Princeton received half of the prize, with Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz sharing the other half, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm made the announcement on Tuesday.

Peebles has been awarded the prize for creating a theoretical framework that is the foundation of our modern understanding of the universe’s history, from the Big Bang to the present day.

Mayor and Queloz are recognized for the first discovery of a planet outside our solar system, an exoplanet, orbiting a solar-type star, in 1995.

Past Physics Prize laureates include Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr and James Chadwick, the discoverer of the neutron. Marie Curie won the prize twice, in 1903 for her work in understanding the nature of radioactivity and again in 1911 for the discovery of the elements radium and polonium.

In 2013, Peter Higgs, who theorized the sub-atomic boson that bears his name, won the prize after the particle was observed for the first time during experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider.

Candidates eligible for the Physics Prize are nominated by qualified persons and invited by the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration. No one can nominate himself or herself.

This year’s Nobel Prize is worth 9-million kronor ($918,000).

Copyright 2019 NPR. To see more, visit