Voters in Reedsport and Drain have decided to create their own library districts in Tuesday’s primary election.

Voters approved the Drain-area North Douglas Library District in a 76 percent to 24 percent vote, and the Reedsport-area Lower Umpqua Library District in a 57.6 percent to 42.4 percent vote, as of Wednesday morning.

Reedsport area voters decided to approve the Lower Umpqua Library District, along with a 39 cents per $1,000 property tax, and have elected Gary Goorhuis, Ronald Eberlein, Leon Bridge, Kathleen Browning and Sherril Paul as the district’s board of directors. The district will include Reedsport, Gardiner and Winchester Bay.
Ron Eberlein of Reedsport, chairman of the library advisory board, said he’s very happy with the results.

Read the whole story at the News-Review.