Aesop Rock has collaborated with TOBACCO on a new album called "Malibu Ken" out on Jan. 18.

Aesop Rock has collaborated with TOBACCO on a new album called “Malibu Ken” out on Jan. 18.

Courtesy of the Rhymesayers

Welcome to the Monday Mix where each week we highlight three songs debuting on the opbmusic broadcast.

Our Girl - “Our Girl”

Hailing from Brighton, England, dream-rock trio Our Girl’s debut album, “Stranger Today,” along with the self-titled single might be the one that got away in 2018. New to us, but released in August of last year, the track boasts a wall of sound merged with a dream-pop vocal that is at once disarming and intriguing. While their tour schedule remains overseas, you can stream the entire album here.

Jay Som - “Turn the Other Cheek”

Jay Som’s “Turn the Other Cheek” was originally released back in May of 2017 as part of the compilation “Our First 100 Days,” a protest album of sorts, benefiting organizations believed to be under threat by the Trump administration. The band recently released the track as a standalone single last month. The song functions in a space that is both disjointed and quietly triumphant, which immediately brings to mind some of the best psych-pop from the Beatles catalog. Jay Som will spend the Spring of 2019 touring with Mitski and you can follow their exploits here.

Aesop Rock and TOBACCO - “Corn Maze”

Portlander Aesop Rock has made a name for himself as the most verbose rapper in the world (no really), outpacing his peers, Shakespeare, and the novel “Moby Dick.” This year, he’s collaborating with experimental analog beat-maker TOBACCO (Thomas Fec of Black Moth Super Rainbow) on a project they’ve titled “Malibu Ken.” The song “Corn Maze” delivers. It’s the second single from their self-titled album, marrying a wealth of imagery amidst dense lyrical content to enthralling synth beats. You can pre-order the album, due out Jan. 18, here.