People hoping to get an Oregon driver’s license that requires a driving test will need to visit a third-party business instead of a DMV office, according to Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services.
The DMV said driving tests are one of the services that have been impacted by the coronavirus pandemic.
Due to the pandemic, DMV field offices across the state are only open to the public by appointment only and only for transactions that require in-person services including getting a knowledge test or vision screening for a driver’s license.
But to take the driving test to get a license, the DMV is directing Oregonians to third-party businesses across the state at driver education centers and other facilities. Driver tests taken at those businesses range from $60 to $75 depending on location. That’s on top of DMV fees to obtain a license.
Some of the appointments for those drive tests sites are booked out until at least December.
Also, according to the DMV, “all of the testing businesses require you to use one of their company-owned vehicles for the test.”
Oregonians whose licenses have expired between March and the end of 2020 should not be cited for driving with an expired license.
Earlier this year, the Oregon Department of Transportation and state law enforcement agencies partnered together in an agreement to exercise discretion in enforcement of documentation that expires during the coronavirus pandemic.
In July, Oregon Gov. Kate Brown signed a bill into law which created a moratorium on certain traffic violations. That law prevents a police officer from issuing citations due to expired vehicle registration, driver license, identification cards and some other expired permits.
That moratorium is in effect until the end of this year.