OPB today announced that journalists in the OPB newsroom have received 2021 Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. Business and Economics Reporter Kate Davidson, Multimedia Producer/Reporter Claudia Meza, Reporter and Photojournalist Bradley W. Parks, Senior Digital Video Producer Arya Surowidjojo and Digital Planning Editor Courtney Sherwood were honored in a variety of categories, including “Continuing Coverage,” “Excellence in Sound,” “Excellence in Video” and “Excellence in Writing.”

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Among the most prestigious in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community.

Murrow Award-winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

OPB’s Murrow Awards include:

Continuing Coverage: The pandemic’s economic fallout in Oregon” (Kate Davidson)

Excellence in Sound: Battle hymns: from founders to today, protest music is American music” (Claudia Meza)

Excellence in Video: Indigenous spirituality inside Oregon prisons” (Bradley Parks, Arya Surowidjojo)

Excellence in Writing: “Portland’s violin vigil for Elijah McClain” (Courtney Sherwood, Claudia Meza, Arya Surowidjojo)

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to broadcast and digital journalism. RTDNA’s mission is to promote and protect responsible journalism and defend the First Amendment rights of electronic journalists throughout the country.