MOsley WOtta
Jason Graham

Blue Darling — “Fast or Slow”


The folk duo of Ezza Rose and Craig Rupert dropped their emotionally stirring single, “Fast or Slow,” late last month. According to their Facebook page, the two Portland-based musicians, who previously played together in Rose’s folk rock group, aim “to form a songwriting outlet for folk songs that recall their early days picking acoustic guitars and singing close harmonies.” This song is a dazzling introduction to that work and set to build anticipation as the first of five tracks from their upcoming debut EP, “Folded Hands,” set for arrival this year.

Winston Surfshirt feat. Genesis Owusu — “There’s Only One”

Winston Surfshirt is the creator and frontman of an eponymous six-piece Australian funk/ hip hop group. For the single “There’s Only One,” they teamed up with the Ghanian-born emcee, Genius Owusu. “The timing was right, so we sent him the tune and he sent a verse and bridge back a day later. No need for any changes, it was perfection,” said Surfshirt of the lightning-quick collaboration. The finished product is stylish and fun, driven by an irresistible funk groove.

MOsley WOtta — “Basic”

Bend, Oregon, renaissance man Jason Graham (aka MOsley WOtta) recently gifted us with the new album, “It’s Not the Year, It’s You.” The record features this stellar hip-hop track “Basic.” After a sonic boom of bass punctures the air, Graham’s cadence and unique flow complete the creation of the righteous banger.


Tags: Culture, Music